Just Like Goober

A working suburban mom, a curious baby boy, and a whole lotta life

2011 Wrap Up January 3, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Merrsidotes @ 12:21 pm
Tags:

Happy New Year! I hope everyone had wonderful holidays and hopefully a nice break. Working for a university, I was lucky enough to be off from Dec. 23 through yesterday, January 2. I took that break seriously, almost completely unplugging from email, internet, and I barely even visited Facebook! Hence my extended absence. I really enjoyed my twelve consecutive days at home, spent a lot of time with my boys, did a mini makeover on our basement, and visited family. I’m semi-rested and fully recharged and ready to take on 2012! Before I do that, however, I just need to wrap up 2011, tie it in a pretty little bow. I’m taking the following recap from Linda, who I’ve been reading for years and I think it’s a great little way to summarize the departing year.

1. What did you do in 2011 that you’d never done before?

Parented a toddler, went to South Carolina, vacationed with a kid, went on a float trip with other moms.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don’t do resolutions, but last year I started an Annual To Do List. More on that tomorrow :)

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Several friends and family members had new babies this past year

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No one close to us, thank you God.

5. What countries did you visit?

Ha, yeah right!

6. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?

More time. More money. More romance.

7. What dates from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

June 9- my baby turned 1!

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Let’s just say that March through June were really tough months for our family and coming through that with my marriage (and sanity) intact was a pretty big achievement.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Letting communication with Hubby fall to the wayside as parenting and general life took priority.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

I think I had some undiagnosed PPD early last winter. Serious sleep deprivation will do that.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Hubby and I got a lot of Home Depot gift cards for Christmas, so we bought some carpet and vinyl tile for our basement floor, which is giving us some much needed living and play space!

12. Where did most of your money go?

Mortgage. Bills. More bills.

13. What did you get really excited about?

Our vacation. It was a much needed getaway. Also, Mamapalooza!

14. What song will always remind you of 2011?

Uhh…?

15. Compared to this time last year, are you:

– happier or sadder? Happier. I was seriously sleep deprived this time last year.
– thinner or fatter? Fatter. I definitely have put on some pounds.

– richer or poorer? Poorer. Over a year on a single income will do that to ya.

16. What do you wish you’d done more of? Stayed at home with the three of us. We leave the house far too much.

17. What do you wish you’d done less of? Eat out. See: Fatter, Poorer.

18. How did you spend Christmas? Bouncing from family to family, eating a ton, trying to keep my son from losing his shit anytime anyone else opened a present.

19. What was your favorite TV program? Hubby and I started and finished the entire series of Friday Night Lights. Texas forever baby! (I know nothing about Texas)

20. What were your favorite books of the year? The Mockingjay Series

21. What was your favorite music from this year? I’m not too into music, so I don’t think I have a favorite.

22. What were your favorite films of the year? The Help, 50/50, The Girl With The Dragon Tatoo

23. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? I turned 29 this year and celebrated by going to dinner with my husband. It was perfect.

24. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? Enough money to stay home full time. A job my husband loves. Those two things together.

25. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2011? Does it look dirty? No. Good enough.

26. What kept you sane? My girlfriends, no doubt about it.

27. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2011. Secrets can eat away at your soul. Even if they’re not hurting anyone, even if no one is in danger, the necessity of keeping something from people you care about will make you sick.

 

Say something!

