Just Like Goober

A working suburban mom, a curious baby boy, and a whole lotta life

Spread a Little Christmas Cheer November 18, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Merrsidotes @ 7:33 pm
Tags: ,

One hallmark, in my mind, of being a grown up is sending a holiday card. Hearing that phrase “holiday card” pulls up a memory of a Friends episode where Chandler, recently married to Monica, asks her if they should send out a holiday card together that year and her reply is, “Umm, I don’t know if we’re ‘there’ yet?” The implication here is that sending a holiday card is a Big Deal. In our family, those things are saved from year to year and are prominently displayed for all your friends and family to see. Although my husband and I have been married 3 years now, last year was our first holiday card. I figured, since I was pregnant, it was pretty serious 😉

This year I’m so excited to send out our cards because Goober is getting cuter by the day and, as most parents can relate, I want to show him off to everyone we know. Nowadays there are so many websites and stores printing holiday cards, it’s a little overwhelming. Every other day I get some email from some website offering this deal and that deal. I can’t vouch for most of these places, but I can for Shutterfly. I first discovered them when I got an email years back offering me a free 8×8 photobook. I had heard of them, so I figured it wasn’t a scam. We had recently returned from our honeymoon and I thought that would a fun gift for my husband, a showcase of all our pictures. I’m notorious for not printing our digital photos, so this would ensure tangible proof of our trip. The book was so awesome that I ended up making and purchasing several other photobooks for family members that Christmas. It’s still one of my favorite go-to gifts.

When I got pregnant, I wanted to find a way to keep all of our family updated on my pregnancy, and eventually on Goober. A friend of mine introduced me to Shutterfly’s share sites– a website you create that they host where you can post pictures, videos, and blog entries. I can password protect it and only give it to those I want to see all our details. It’s great because I will upload my pictures to my Shutterfly account once while using them over and over- post it on the websites, print pictures, make photobooks, and, this year, create a holiday card.

I was already browsing Shutterfly’s holiday cards, getting ideas, when I read one of my favorite blogs, “Confessions of a Young Married Couple” and she posted that Shutterfly was offering 50 free holiday cards to bloggers who wanted to do a post on their holiday card selection. As a Shutterfly fan, I was ALL ABOUT THAT. If it were some website I didn’t love or know, I wouldn’t write a post no matter what they offer. But if I love it, I’m happy to talk about it, and if you want to give me free stuff for doing so, even better!

This will be my first holiday card from Shutterfly. Last year I went with Walmart because I waited until the last minute and I needed to print and pick them up the same day. They were…ehh, okay. Not fabulous. So I’m very excited to be ON IT this year, and it’s only NOVEMBER. Go me. Here are a few styles that I like:

I like this one for a few reasons. I think it’s inclusive for our non Christmas celebrating friends. It holds up to 4 photos for maximum baby showing off. It’s only $0.32/card, which is great for our budget. I have way more than 50 cards to send out, so this might be where the rest come from.

This card catches my eye because of the words “joy and magic”. I’m hoping that Christmas with my own little one will really encompass those two words.

This is another great choice for us! It has a line from one of my favorite Christmas songs. It has 5, count them FIVE, photos so we can have several of Goober, one of us as a family and maybe one of the dog. I also like the initial on the top right, I think that’s cute.

Ugh, there are too many choices. But that’s probably the best problem

to have and, using Shutterfly, probably the only problem I’ll have. Happy shopping everyone!!

 

One Response to “Spread a Little Christmas Cheer”

  1. […] waxed on before about my love for Shutterfly.com.  My Christmas cards that I got from them last year got SO MANY […]


Say something!

