Just Like Goober

A working suburban mom, a curious baby boy, and a whole lotta life

So Glad You Were Born May 6, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Merrsidotes @ 3:44 pm
Tags: ,

Last year my favorite baby store held a blog contest for Mother’s Day called, “I’m Glad You Were Born.” The premise of this contest was to write a little something in 500 words or less on why you are glad for a child in your life. It was my unofficial first Mother’s Day, as I was VERY pregnant, uncomfortable, not sleeping, etc. I thought it might be fun to write my own version to the little boy who was yet to be born.

I don’t know who you’ll look like
I don’t know what color your eyes are
I don’t know if you’ll play soccer like your dad
I don’t know if you’ll love to read like me
I don’t know if you will shy away from people
Or be the biggest voice in the room
I don’t know if you want to be a doctor or a teacher or an astronaut
I don’t know if you will prefer dogs or cats
I don’t know what foods will be your favorite
I do know that you have 10 little fingers and 10 little toes
I know that so far you’re average size for your age
I know you have 6 grandparents and 3 great-grandparents
Who all think you hang the moon
I know you have 2 aunts who already fight over who’s the favorite
I know you get excited after you get fed
I know you like to keep your hands near your face
I know your name, my sweet little boy
But I can hardly wait to get to know YOU
I’m so glad you are going to be born

This entry won me an honorable mention and a $10 gift certificate. I can’t believe that it’s been a year already since I wrote those words for the baby I had yet to meet. This morning Cotton Babies posted the contest once again, and this year I get to write about the little boy I’ve been getting to know for almost 11 months. Here goes:

Oh my Gabriel

My beautiful, sweet little boy

For the past 11 months I have gotten to know you

I know the details of your face, fingers, and toes; I know the expressions in your eyes

When you’re happy or upset or mischievous

I love to watch you be yourself, you’re such an individual already

You love to dance and move to the music, you want to be moving all the time

You love to eat and will try anything

Your skinny legs, long torso, and unexpected red tinged hair

All remind me that you are so much more, than the combination of your parents

There’s very little that bothers you, except when I have to leave you

You love your momma, your dad

You light up for your grandparents and even the dog and cat

You have given me so much,

More than I even know how to express

I had no idea how long I was waiting for you

Until you came along

I am so glad you were born

 

Say something!

