Just Like Goober

A working suburban mom, a curious baby boy, and a whole lotta life

Monday Pinning August 15, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Merrsidotes @ 1:29 pm
Tags: , , ,

Hello and Happy Monday! I say that ironically, as most Mondays aren’t all that happy, what with the whole leaving my baby and returning to my day job. Hence the concept of Monday Pinning- Posts that don’t make me think!

Today I’m doing a food theme. This week my mom and I are tackling my first case of putting pinning into action. A couple weeks back I pinned this great blog post on make-ahead crock pot freezer meals. I emailed the link to my mom (she doesn’t pin) and we thought it’d be a great thing to do and split up the meals. Half the food, half the work, half the cost!

In case I haven’t told you already, I’m a BIG fan of slow cooker meals. BIG FAN. You can make them ahead of time, they don’t require stirring, it’s all in one pot, and since I discovered slow cooker liners, THERE’S NO CLEAN UP! I’m sold. So when I saw the following recipe pop up on my Pinterest feed, I was ALL OVER THAT.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tikka Masala. How good does that look?? As a pretty recent convert to Indian cuisine, this was completely up my alley. I haven’t actually made it yet, but any day now, trust me. I’ll let you know how it is.

Speaking of rice (I know I wasn’t “technically” speaking of rice, but look up there at that picture, there’s some rice, it’s basically like speaking of it. Smooth transition, right?!), do you have a rice cooker? I went way too many years telling people that I can cook anything, except pancakes (another story) and rice. Turns out, it’s because I didn’t have a rice cooker. Those things are FANTASTIC. Perfect rice every time. Also, quinoa! For things like this-

Mango and Black Bean Quinoa Salad. I could eat this multiple times a week. Be careful though, not to eat it all in one sitting, it will hurt your belly. Not that I did that or anything…

Another use of your rice cooker

Rice cooker oatmeal! I do this sometimes before I leave for work so that my husband will be forced to feed Goober something other than cheerios in almond milk for breakfast.

Now, to end on something a little more exciting that slow cooker/rice cooker meals:

Deep Dish Cookie Pie.

You’re welcome 🙂

 

Say something!

