Just Like Goober

A working suburban mom, a curious baby boy, and a whole lotta life

All About Me August 23, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Merrsidotes @ 10:17 am
Tags: , ,

Imaginary Person: So, Merrsidotes, why don’t you tell us a little more about yourself?

Merrsidotes: Oh, sure Imaginary Person, since you’re inquiring, I guess I could tell you a little about me…Where do I start?

Imaginary Person: Always start at the beginning, that’s what I say.

So, hi, I’m Merrsidotes. I was born in St. Louis, Missouri in 1982, just days after the St. Louis Cardinals won the World Series. It would be 24 years before they won again, at Busch Stadium in St. Louis, days before my 24th birthday. My husband-to-be was at that game with his mom and his two siblings. I, on the other hand, was stuck serving soup and sandwiches at St. Louis Bread Company, the part-time job I’d taken to help save some money for our wedding. I’m not bitter or anything. Anyway…

I was born to Eileen* and Leon*, two crazy young twenty-somethings.

Me, fresh out of the oven

I love my parents very much, but those two were NOT supposed to be together. Took them about 5 years after I was born to figure it out before heading over to Splitsville. The summer before I started Kindergarten my parents separated and divorced by the 1st Grade. To their credit, the split was mostly amicable and they did a really good job of keeping me out of their disagreements and drama. While my mom had primary custody, I saw my dad twice a week, plus alternating weekends. They made it work.

My childhood was fairly run-of-the-mill. I was less than popular in school, but I had good friendships with the kids of my parents’ friends (you probably know Cheryl…we go WAY back).

Cheryl and I, circa 1985

I also always had a best friend that lived near my dad. My parents remarried, one stuck, the other not so much. I survived childhood and adolescence with minimal scarring. I was a good student, took advanced classes and got good grades. Senior year I decided I needed to go to college somewhere far enough away that I wasn’t eating dinner at home, but close enough for regular visits. I chose Truman State University, a self dubbed “Harvard of the Midwest”, that required a high enough ACT score to make me feel smart, but was the least expensive state university, to make me feel like I was getting a deal.

Going to Truman was the best decision I ever made. I really came into my own there, figured out a lot about myself, and who I was and was not going to be. The only regret I have from my college years was a long-term, long distance relationship that should have ended as a summer fling. I wish I would have been a little crazier during those years, but c’est la vie!

I came out of college with a B.A. in Psychology and no plan for a career. I ditched my long time plan of becoming an elementary teacher during my last semester. I had some ideas about getting into higher education, but I needed money asap, so I became a nanny. I loved the boys I watched, but those 6 months reaffirmed what I figured out in college, that while I love kids, my career could not revolve around them. I don’t have it in me.

Around this time I also met Hubby. By the way, online dating works. We met and we both knew by the second date that we were done looking. We weren’t perfect, but we were perfect for each other. It was kind of a joke between us about having to wait an appropriate amount of time before getting married. On September 14, 2006 he asked, I said yes. Game over and we both won. We got married a year later, on October 6, 2007. My wedding was one of my most favorite days ever. Lots of little things went wrong, but I didn’t care. It was my wedding for cripes sake! As long as I could wear my pretty pretty dress and dance with my favorite guy, it was going to be a good day.

Don't we look like we're having a good time!

Favorite people on my favorite day

We were married almost two years before we bought our house and gutted it. It originally was owned by my great aunt, who had moved into a retirement facility. She owned that house almost twenty years and lived there all alone and let it go to SHIT. The whole place smelled of cat urine and twenty years of chain smoking. Really really awful. Which is why she sold it to us for a very nice price. We had the whole thing revamped in less than three months, including all new subfloors, flooring, redesigned kitchen, new deck, new yard, new driveway… you get the picture. We moved in on our second wedding anniversary. 9 days later we found out we were pregnant. It was a busy year for us. 9 months later we had our beautiful baby boy and 5 months after that I started this here blog. That pretty much brings us up to date.

So now you know a bit more about me. Tell me a little about you!

*not their real names

 

Say something!

