Just Like Goober

A working suburban mom, a curious baby boy, and a whole lotta life

Monday Pinning August 29, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Merrsidotes @ 12:22 pm
Tags: , , ,

I mentioned earlier that I’m doing the HabitHacker 90 day Nest challenge. I get little prompts each day to do something to better the state of my home- either cleanliness or organizationally. This has inspired me to rethink some of my home organization techniques and look for ways get things in better order. This morning I decided I needed to organize my organization ideas on Pinterest, so I created a “Get Organized” pin board to keep better track of these ideas. Here are few of my favorites:

Photo courtesy of http://makeandtakes.com

Menu planning is one place I definitely need some organization (and motivation). This is just a black picture frame, with some scrapbook paper placed where the picture would usually go. Print the days of the week and the “Menu” title on the paper, and BAM! You’ve got yourself a cute little dinner menu whiteboard!

Photo courtesy of http://u-createcrafts.com

Speaking of organizing meals, here is a fantastic idea.  You can create your own personalized grocery list with the items you regularly purchase. Then just check off the items as you run out of things and when it’s time to go to the store, you have a grocery list ready to go!

Once I get all those groceries home, I run into another problem in my pantry. Cans are stacked in all sorts of places and they are hard to see and hard to see around. Using a magazine holder may be just the ticket to freeing up some space for more important things. Like chocolate chips.

Photo courtesy of http://marthastewart.com

Leaving the subject of food, I want to show you this easy piece of brilliance that you can do immediately. If you were to look at the top shelf of my bedroom closet (please don’t), you would feel the need to guard your head in case the teetering tower of sheets and pillow cases were to come tumbling down at you. Marthastewart.com has solved this problem by suggesting that we take one of those pillow cases and use it to keep the matching sheets and pillow case(s) all tucked in together nicely. This is something that requires no materials or tools, yet I still haven’t done it. Bad Merrsidotes.

Photo courtesy of http://bhg.com

One last thing. I’m sure you remember that I’m going to South Carolina- considering that I mention it pretty much everyday. So with a minimum of 30 hours in the car with a toddler and, more likely the bigger problem, my husband, we’re going to need some tools to keep things from getting gross. The brilliant people at Better Homes and Gardens thought to use a plastic cereal container to keep the trash contained. I usually just hang a grocery bag over the stick shift and toss stuff in that way. It works, but things fall out without a lid. I prefer this idea.

So that’s what I’m thinking about this week. What about you? Anything you’re pinning that you want to share? Any great organization ideas that I should try? Let me know! Also if you have a Pinterest account, share it in the comments! I’m always looking to pin more great ideas!

 

2 Responses to “Monday Pinning”

  1. Ryann Says:

    Hey! I saw that you did HabitHacker! I signed up for it but have been doing FlyLady. How have you done with HabitHacker?
    I also have a Pinterest account! My username is Ryannfw. I just did a post on my blog about things I have found on Pinterest also. My blog URL is http://www.onmyown-20somethings.blogspot.com.

    • Merrsidotes Says:

      I’m sorry to say that I have failed miserably at HabitHacker. Not because there’s anything wrong with it, but because I generally fail at those types of things. I’m saving all my emails though and hoping to jump back on the bandwagon. I think it could really be useful, if I can just stick with it. Hence my need for HabitHacker to begin with.


Say something!

