Just Like Goober

A working suburban mom, a curious baby boy, and a whole lotta life

Monday Pinning September 6, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Merrsidotes @ 7:30 am
Tags: ,

Happy Monday Tuesday!

Did you have a good holiday weekend? I definitely enjoyed the extra day off, not to mention the weather. Here in St. Louis, we went from Friday and Saturday highs over 100 degrees to Sunday and Monday highs in the mid 70s. Perfect for apple picking, barbequeing, and after dinner strolls through the neighborhood.

Another perk of my weekend was seeing my good friend Jen, who lives in Tulsa, Oklahoma. We met in college and have maintained a pretty close friendship, despite living in different states for the past 6 years. Jen was in for a wedding, so our friend Liz and I met up with her at a local mall in between the wedding & reception, which was the only time she had available during this very quick trip through town. These are definitely my most fashion thoughtful friends, so I took advantage of their expertise to choose some accessories to go with the new dress I bought for our wedding in South Carolina. Namely, I got a necklace and earrings to spice up my top half and my first pair of Spanx to help out my bottom half.  This pretty much completes my outfit and I’m very happy with the look. I haven’t bought a new dress in I can’t remember how long, and I haven’t been on a vacation in 4 years, so I am pretty excited to get all dressed up and actually HAVE somewhere to go. The purchase of my necklace and earrings though makes me want to wear my hair up for the wedding.

With my not-quite-touching-my-shoulders haircut and my idea of a hairstyle involving finger combing and a rubberband, I’m running short on ideas of how to create an updo on my own. This lead to me spending Saturday night on Pinterest searching “diy short hair updos”. My findings were not vast, but I grabbed a couple things.

Photo from Brides.com

I really like this style, but I’m concerned that my hair won’t be long enough. But if I can pull it off, I think its my favorite.

Updo for short-hair tutorial via YouTube.com

This is why I love Pinterest. Someone else took the time to find an AWESOME video tutorial about how to create a lovely updo, singled it out from all the crap that often permeates YouTube, and posted it here for me to see. Thank you, good sir, thank you very much.

 Love Love Love. The end.

No, not really the end. I’m a little concerned that I don’t have the ability to do this without completely flubbing it up. I think I’ll need to practice a lot before we head to the coast.

If anyone knows of a good updo technique for shorter hair, I’d love to hear it!

 

Say something!

