Just Like Goober

A working suburban mom, a curious baby boy, and a whole lotta life

September 11 September 11, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Merrsidotes @ 8:00 am

I was a freshman in college at Truman State University in Kirksville, Missouri

I remember it was a Tuesday, because Tuesdays were the days that I didn’t have class until noon. I woke up before my alarm. My roommate was already gone to class, so I pittled around our dorm room for awhile, trying to avoid the morning shower rush. I finally gathered up my towel and toiletries and headed off to the community bathroom. Walking down the hall, I stopped by the room of some floormates who were both staring at the tv. They informed me that a small plane had flown into the side of the World Trade Center. We marveled at how horrible it was, those poor people just sitting in their cubicles. I slyly got them to tell me that the World Trade Center was in New York, me being a little bit challenged in the area of social studies. I left to take my shower.

On the way out of the bathroom, wrapped in just a towel, I noticed an unusually large amount of people down the hall in the common room. When I passed the same floormates’ room down the hall, there were now 5 people standing around their 13″ television.

“Another plane hit the other tower.”

“What? How? I don’t understand.”

After that it gets a bit fuzzy. I remember someone saying something about terrorists, but I don’t remember if it was before or after the pentagon was hit, and I don’t remember if that was before or after I ran to my room to throw on some clothes. I hurried to the common room barefoot with my hairbrush in one hand and my cell phone in the other. The rest of the day, the week really, was spent glued to CNN in the common room. I remember another floormate and I, who had that 12pm class together, debating whether or not to even go, then walking to class only to find it had been cancelled.

I called all my parents that day, looking for something that they couldn’t give me. I wanted them to say it didn’t happen. That the world isn’t scary. I wanted to get back into my bubble of safety and invincibility that up until that point I didn’t even realize I had. We were freshman in college, brand new to this freedom of living away from our parents, practicing adult decisions, learning about the world, and here, in our first month of this life, everything we understood about our world changed that day.

To the men, women, and children who died that day, we will never forget you. To those who lost family members and friends on that tragic day, our hearts and prayers go out to you. To those in the States and around the world working to prevent something like this from ever happening to us again, our thanks and gratitude don’t even cover it.

 

Say something!

