Just Like Goober

A working suburban mom, a curious baby boy, and a whole lotta life

Versatile Blogger Award! September 23, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Merrsidotes @ 9:19 am
Tags: , ,

Holy crap monkey! Cheryl gave me the Versatile Blogger Award!! It was such a nice surprise when I got home from vacation.  I’m in shock and awe and blushing a little. She’s sweet, that girl.

There are some rules that come with this award:

Rule #1.  Thank the person who gave you the award and link back to them in your post.

THANK YOU CHERYL!

As most (if not all) of you know, Cheryl over at That’s What Che Said is pretty much the best chick ever. She’s a great mom, amazing wife (Freddy better know how lucky he is!), fabulous friend, and as we’ve all discovered over the past few months, really incredible blogger. I think I’ve mentioned before (here, here, here, and here) that Cheryl and I have been friends forever, but until she started blogging, I had no idea how creative and crafty she was. Come to find out, that girl has some serious creativity running through those veins! If polygamy is ever legalized here in Missouri, I’m totally making her my sister wife. I want her decorating my house and fixing my cocktails (Don’t worry Freddy, we’ll find a place for you!!)

Rule #2:  Share 7 Things about yourself

7 things about me:

  1. I have 2 party tricks: First, a more common sight, I can tie cherry stems into knots with my tongue. Second, a little less common and kind of creepy, I have useful toes. Especially to pick things up when I’m too lazy to bend over, and (here’s where it’s weird) to pinch people. I have no idea where I learned it, but I can pinch you one hell of a bruise using only my toes. I’ve been told it hurts more than a finger pinch.

  2. I have never sat traditionally cross-legged on the floor. Instead, I sit with my knees facing forward and my feet pointing behind me, like the letter M, with my butt being the bottom of the V. I’m told it looks uncomfortable, but I find it much more comfortable that sitting cross-legged. It also, over time, has made me knock-kneed.

  3. I have a sister who is 12 years younger than me. She is currently navigating high school, my nemesis, and coaching her through it is very cathartic for me.

  4. My favorite color is purple and my favorite flavor is grape. These things have not changed for as long as I can remember.

  5. I will eat just about anything. I’m a huge foodie with a fast food budget, which makes for disappointing date nights in the culinary department. If anyone would like to treat me to a tasting menu with wine pairings, I’ll be your friend for life.

  6. I’m completely enamored by anything pregnancy/birth related. I have seriously considered becoming a doula at some point in my life. Maybe when I retire?

  7. On the opposite side of the spectrum, I’m completely terrified of death and the great unknown that comes afterwards. I don’t like to talk or even think about the prospect of someday not existing. If my mind starts wandering that way, I have to distract myself with something or I will start feeling all panicky.

Rule #3:  Pass the award on to 15 blogs that were recently discovered!

I’m going to interpret this as my own recent discoveries, despite the fact that most of these have been around for a long time! And the award goes to…

  1. Bower Power

  2. Paw Prints and Pastry Bags

  3. Blue Eyed Bride

  4. That’s What Che Said (I know she already has it, but I can’t help it, it’s one of my favorites and it’s pretty new to me still!)

  5. Mabel’s House

  6. The Spohrs Are Multiplying

  7. Young House Love

  8. The Glamorous Life of a Housewife

  9. PhD in Parenting

  10. Nate is Great

  11. Inside Dog

  12. Craftaholics Anonymous

  13. A Bowl Full of Lemons

  14. 365 Days of Pinterest

  15. Carrots ‘n Cake

Please spend some time visiting these amazing blogs. You’re guaranteed to learn something new and probably find a new favorite.

Thanks again Cheryl!!!

 

Say something!

