Just Like Goober

A working suburban mom, a curious baby boy, and a whole lotta life

Inquiring Minds want to know February 1, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Merrsidotes @ 1:46 pm
Tags: , , ,

I need some input from the peanut gallery on a few things

  • Breakfast: I am a full time working mom of a toddler who also does double duty as an alarm clock (the toddler, not me.) So I wake up whenever he does and I often choose between showering and eating. This is a problem around 9:30 or 10 at work when I’m slamming my debit card down for a lot of unnecessary calories because it’s easy. Also, I’m not always hungry before I leave for work. I’ve tried bringing cereal and milk to work, but I need protein in the morning. So I need some tried and true ideas that will work around this conundrum. What do you eat for breakfast during the week?

 

  • Dinner: I’m pretty sure I’ve posed this here, but I would love some good crockpot suggestions. I need food waiting to go when I get home, especially on the nights I have class and I don’t want Hubby taking Goober to McDonalds AGAIN. Any unique, yummy, perhaps healthy slow cooker recipes?

 

  • Exercise: I would LOVE to hear from a full time working mother of a toddler about when and how they work out! SOMEONE must have the secret to exercising in a way that isn’t boring (Hello treadmill!) and doesn’t fall during dinner time (Zumba, how I covet thee!) and doesn’t require me picking up a second job to pay for it (EVERYTHING ELSE!) What has you saying, “God, I can’t wait to do that tomorrow!!”

For your assistance, I will pay you in cute pictures

Are the answers in here???

 

2 Responses to “Inquiring Minds want to know”

  1. mytimeathome Says:

    For breakfast I have an easy fix that actually involves cereal. When I was pregnant my doula told me to eat foods that were high in protein and in fiber for breakfast because it would keep me going for 4+ hours. Well, when I was pregnant it kept me going for 3 hours maybe..but that’s beside the point. So I seriously couldn’t do the egg thing or if I did make eggs I wasn’t eating it with oatmeal. It was just really hard for me to do the protein and fiber together. She suggested the High protein, high fiber Kashi cereal. It may not be on the list of yummy foods but it doesn’t taste all that bad. I have gotten into a habit of eating the Kashi Go Lean Original (Chase makes fun of it because it says it has fiber twigs on the packaging). There are other flavors as well though.

    I’m not a big crock pot person but besides a good pot roast I usually just use it to make a bunch of chicken every other week (either a whole chicken or a bunch of thighs or breasts). I season the chicken really well and we have that plus sides the day I make it and then I shred the chicken that night and either freeze it or put in the fridge and make casseroles or pot pie or chicken spaghetti with it. We have chicken a LOT. It’s cheap and super easy.

    And I have no clue about the excercise thing. I have started doing sit ups and crunches while I am in the floor playing with baby J. lol

  2. Momma Says:

    My best solution for protein in the morning is hard boiled eggs. I usually make enough for the week and keep at the office. Frozen cherries, blueberries, mixed berries also work great. Thaw over night and add a banana and some cinnamon along with my egg and I’ve got a fast, easy great breakfast.

    The eggs also work great in the afternoon when an apple/orange just isn’t cutting it.


Say something!

