Just Like Goober

A working suburban mom, a curious baby boy, and a whole lotta life

a Meme! February 9, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Merrsidotes @ 11:56 am
Tags: ,

Just when I was deciding that thinking of something to write about today was too hard, Meredith went and made it all easy for me. So here is a bunch of stuff you may or may not know about me and probably don’t care about. FUN!

Age – 29 for another 8+ months. I don’t want to talk about what happens in October.

Bed size – Queen. Hubby and I really want a king, but since we just bought our first bedroom set a year ago, complete with a queen sized headboard and footboard (is that what you call it?), I’m reluctant to switch it already. 

Chore you hate – Folding laundry and doing dishes. Generally chores that are frequently repetitive drive me insane. I feel unaccomplished when it’s something I’m going to have to do again in the next 24 hours or less.

Dogs – Sophie is an 80 pound Golden Lab/Great Pyrenees mix who thinks she’s a person. She sleeps in our bed, she stands on the couch, she frequently helps herself to any food on the stove or table. Basically, she owns this joint.

Essential to start your day – Preferably coffee, but I’m pretty flexible. Generally I just need 5 minutes to change my underwear and put my hair in a ponytail and I can be good to go.

Favorite color – In theory, purple, but it never seems to make its way into my wardrobe or decorating. If you were to deduce this by frequency of use, you would conclude that blue would be my favorite. I like blue a lot and I think it’s my favorite to use because it’s a safe color. But I really like purple. 

Gold or Silver – I always tell people I’m allergic to gold because I hate it so much. Definitely silver; the color, not the metal. I very much enjoy white gold, platinum, silver, brushed nickel, stainless steel…you get the idea. If you try to make me use brass in my house, you will be shown the door.

Height – 5’10".  I despise being tall.  I’ve always been very self conscious of my height. Let’s not talk about it anymore.

Instruments you play – None. I tried the flute in 5th grade, but I failed after I spent 2 weeks out sick with bronchitis at the exact time the band was learning the songs for the Christmas concert. Oh well.

Job title – Administrative Secretary, which really downplays the fact that I have a BA in Psychology and am 6 credit hours away from a MA in Student Personnel Administration.

Kids – Duh.

Live – The Lou. That’s St. Louis, Missouri, not a British bathroom. Born and raised, only left during college. Pretty sure I’ll always be here.

Mother’s Name – Momma. 

Nicknames – My parents thought it was a good idea to name me Mary after my TWO aunts, and then my dad went and remarried another Mary, so I generally go by Mary Therese (mom’s family) or Little Mary (dad’s family) or Merrsidotes (stepmom). Hubby calls me Mare Bear. Sister calls me Sissy. And out of left field, Cheryl and her family call me Mookie because her dad is crazy in the best ways.

Overnight hospital stays – Three so far. The first was when I was born. The second was for a kidney issue I had when I was two. The third was when Goober was born.  

Pet peeves – Bad grammar (potentially hypocritical). Bad spelling. Excessive shorthand in digital media (i.e. I don’t care if you occasionally substitute “u” for “you”, but when you start leaving out all punctuation and several verbs, I will ignore your messages.) Running late, both me and other people.

Quote from a movie – ??? I don’t do quotes. That requires a level of memory I don’t possess.

Right or left handed – Right.  Unless I’m doing a cartweel.

Siblings – One sister who is 12 years my junior. She’s in high school right now and it’s equal parts annoying and amusing.

Underwear – Always. Enough said.

Vegetables you hate – Spinach if it’s not submersed in something else. Then I like it. Umm…iceberg lettuce. Parsley- I think it tastes like grass. Green beans, unless they are haricot vert. I like them thin and whole and cooked in fat. Mmmm…fat.

What makes you run late – Usually Hubby. I love him, but he is always guilty of underestimating how long it will take to get out the door and how much actually needs to be done.

X-rays you’ve had – The only one I can think of was when I fell off an extra tall flip flop (no, really!) and thought I broke my foot (just sprained). I was 25, in case you were wondering.

Yummy food that you make – Anything with a recipe I can follow. I am a reasonably good cook, but I need a recipe. If  it’s a good recipe, I can turn it into good food.  

Zoo animal – Elephants are awesome, but they smell a bit. I really like the sea lions, they remind me of dogs (friendly, playful, a little mischievous). Oh, and prairie dogs! Not really sure if they have them outside of Missouri, but prairie dogs are AWESOME!

 

Say something!

