Just Like Goober

A working suburban mom, a curious baby boy, and a whole lotta life

1 Week February 24, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Merrsidotes @ 8:37 am
Tags: ,

Fridays are my weigh in days, so don’t be surprised if you start seeing these little weight updates here every Friday. I need to hold myself accountable, and the only way I know how to do that is to publish this little journey of mine. I want to document it all- good, bad, and ugly. I’m trying to make a life change here, not just lose some weight, and I need to keep that in mind. Also, I would love your feedback, tips, tricks, and if you have some “I’ve been there” stories, I’d love to hear them.

So to kick off this Week 1 update, here are the stats:

Week 1 starting weight: 234.3

Week 2 starting weight: 226.7

Week 1 progress: Down 7.6lbs! Woo WOO! [insert happy dance here]

I have to say I’m pretty proud of myself. Being through this before, I know that a lot of Week 1 weight loss is water weight (70% of Americans are chronically dehydrated), but I also made some really great choices. I ate a lot more fruit and veggies. I stayed at or below my daily point allowance every day; I didn’t use any of my weekly point allowance. Not to say that I plan on staying this strict, but for my first week I wanted to make a big improvement. I want to start good habits and I think the best way to do that is to go full throttle for a little while. That being said, I do have a Mom’s Night Out this weekend, so I will using some of those for that for sure.

I also gave up soda the entire week and I steered mostly clear of coffee and caffeine. I want to see if my chronic consumption of caffeine and sugar substitutes have been adding to my “hunger” and constant snacking. I need to do this a little longer, but I have definitely seen an improvement in my energy. Another thing was that I ate out a lot less. And while perfect eating wasn’t always available, I did notice that when I ate something really bad for me, like cheap delivery pizza or a McChicken from McDonalds, my digestive tract was, ahem, less than pleased. Definitely not worth it.

What I didn’t really do this week is exercise, and I did that on purpose. While exercise is very good and very necessary to the healthy lifestyle I’m striving towards, I want to get my eating under control first. I want to learn good eating habits and get used to making better food choices before I add in exercise, which will inevitably increase my hunger.

Overall, I say this was a great week. So what did you do this week that you feel great about?

 

3 Responses to “1 Week”

  1. JeriWB Says:

    I run four times a week and have for four months now! Never thought I would be a jogger, but once you start, it’s hard to stop.

    • Merrsidotes Says:

      That’s amazing. I would love to become a “runner”, but I always get hung up by something. How did you get started?

      • JeriWB Says:

        I read the book Born to Run. It’s the most inspirational book I’ve come across in a long time. I’m a slow jogger, but like anything, I just had to stick with it until it became a habit. It also helps that the dog is now conditioned to want to go as well, cuz if she doesn’t get her run, she won’t stop bugging me.


Say something!

